No. 1 Southeastern (Fla.) wins programs second Banner, first since 2018

2022 Avista-NAIA World Series – Game 19 Recap

No. 1 Southeastern (Fla.) wins programs second Banner, first since 2018


No. 1 Southeastern (Fla.) (59-4) def. No. 3 Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) (58-7), 11-5| Box Score

Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) falls one game short on its championship journey out of the loser’s bracket

Southeastern (Fla.) finishes the task after leading the nation as the No. 1 team all regular season


  • Gary Lora took a ball in the bottom of the second and launched it to center field which gave the Fire an early lead
  • Southeastern further built its advantage, starting first with a two-out homer to center by Abdel Guadalupe and then a two-RBI double by Sam Faith which scored Brian Fuentes and Lora
  • After having two three up, three down innings and only one hit the Warriors offense woke up in the top of the fifth to the tune of five runs
  • The first two tallies were scored off doubles from Nick Seamons and Pu’ukani De Sa
  • Alex Munroe took over for Drew Gillespie in the middle of the fifth inning with the bases loaded and gave up consecutive RBI hits which brought LCSC all the way back to take a 5-4 lead – all before a single out was recorded by Southeastern
  • Guadalupe started the response by the Fire when he was hit by a pitch then stole second before tying the game on Sam Faith’s single up the middle; SEU was unable to push the go-ahead run across the plate as the frame ended with runners on the corners
  • A single by Morales and a walk to Broyles gave the Fire two aboard with only one out; Warrior pitcher Greg Blackman ended the at-bat for the Fire on a strikeout and line out
  • Fire shortstop fielded the cut off throw off Aidan Nagle’s double and threw a dart to home plate where catcher Shamir Morales kept the game at a 5-5 score
  • As storm clouds drew ever closer to Harris Field, the reason a double header was scheduled, Southeastern twice had runners on second and third with no outs in the bottom of the seventh
  • Nunez hit a base knock that landed just in front of the center fielder which pushed the leading run across the plate, scored by Lora
  • When the bases were loaded, play was suspended at 7:30 pm PST, 2:30 after first pitch was thrown; at 8:45 pm PST the decision was made to resume the game at 8:15 am PST the following morning
  • On the second pitch of the resumption, Zach Diewart reached first on a fielding error by Riley Way, scoring Faith and leaving the bases juiced
  • The next batter, Morales singled through the right side to score Nunez and bring it to a 8-6 edge for Southeastern
  • Broyles hit a fielder’s choice to first base, but a throwing error allowed Marcano from third, forcing the Warriors to bring Trent Sellers into the contest in relief
  • Since the resumption the Fire had plated five total runs, with A Mella scoring on a sacrifice fly, giving SEU a six run inning and taking a commanding 11-5 lead
  • With the momentum having quickly swung to the top-seeded team from Lakeland, Florida, Damien Torres returned to the mound for his second inning – which just happened to be over 12 hours later
  • The Warrior top half of the eighth inning opened two back-to-back fly outs to center field and a strikeout by Seamons to strand Threlfal on first base
  • Holding the SEU offense to only one hit and three recorded outs across four batters, LCSC needed a miracle to turned the tide of the game and knot the score at 11 all
  • Ronnie Voacolo was tasked with getting the final three outs and the championship was claimed on a deep fly ball to center field


1B – Luke White – Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)

2B – Parker Stinnett – Tennessee Wesleyan

SS – Livan Reinoso – Tennessee Wesleyan

3B – Riley Way – Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)

INF – Josh Rego – Westmont (Calif.)

C – Brent Davis – Bellevue (Neb.)

C – Braxton Turner – Tennessee Wesleyan

OF – Brian Fuentes – Southeastern (Fla.)

OF – Allbry Majors – LSU Shreveport (La.)

OF – Sam Linscott – Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)

OF – Blaze O’Saben – Georgia Gwinnett

DH – Noah Castillo – MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.)

P – July Sosa – Faulkner (Ala.)

P – Trent Sellers – Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)

P – Dawson Day – Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)

P – Kevin Miranda – LSU Shreveport (La.)


Most Valuable Player – Brian Fuentes – Southeastern (Fla.)

Charles Berry Hustle Award – Riley Way – Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)

Gold Glove Award – Sam Linscott – Lewis Clark State (Idaho)